Coming back after a break 

Standard

It happened again, I was forced to take a lengthy break. And when I say lengthy I mean two weeks. But if you’re a runner you will know that kind of time feels like FOREVER. 
Why do that then, in the middle of marathon training? Well that would be for something I’ve wanted even longer than to be able to say I can run a marathon. That something would be a dinosaur tattoo. 
I finally did it, and got a velociraptor skeleton inked onto my left hip. I absolutely love it, he looks incredible! However because of the detailed nature and placement of Barney (yes that is his name), I could barely walk comfortably for the first few days, let alone run. I didn’t want to cause any excessive rubbing, and gym clothing as we all know is pretty tight. It’s also pretty sweaty, and moisture is not good for brand new tattoos. 

  
So having got Barney on May 30th, I finally went for a run on June 13th. I’ve run 20 miles in those 10 days. Shabby I know. But I ran 5 miles after work today and once I got going it felt good. So I’m going to get back into the swing of it, trying to stick to my Nike training plan as closely as possible. 
As usual last week I struggled to follow it exactly due to my demanding social life (I may have gone on a spontaneous night out Friday, worked all day Saturday then spontaneously driven down to London to surprise a friend for his birthday…!) and so failed to do the 10k ‘long’ run I should have. Here’s to hoping I can do it this week! 

Leave a Reply

